Author Topic: UPS @#XX!!!  (Read 482 times)

flyover

UPS @#XX!!!
« on: April 03, 2017, 12:57:34 PM »
I ordered 10 plastic 100 round count ammo boxes from Midway and received the shipment today. UPS managed to shred 5 of them. The shipping box shows no damage.
I called Midway and 5 replacement boxes are on the way.  I have to say that Midway has, for me at least, very good customer service.

M1911A1

• Global Moderator
Re: UPS @#XX!!!
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2017, 01:06:43 PM »
...UPS managed to shred 5 of them. The shipping box shows no damage...

How the heck did UPS manage to accomplish that particular bit of wizardry?

I used to be in charge of packing and shipping for the electronic-chassis manufacturing company that was my last line of work.
I have lots of experience, finding out all of the adverse things that the UPS's squad of highly trained gorillas could do to a shipment.
I have never seen a shipment that they had marmilized, that didn't show at least some evidence of disruption on its exterior.

Please advise.
Steve,
retired leathersmith and practical shooter

"Qui desiderat pacem, pręparet bellum."

flyover

« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2017, 03:18:12 PM »
The ammo boxes were stacked on the side, one corner of the shipping box shows a definite, what I would call an impact crinkle. Also there was no packing material between the ammo boxes and the side of the shipping box. Other than that no damage to the shipping box. The impact was enough to remove over 1/2 of the lid and severely damage the hinge on one box. Another ammo box has a split down the side of the lid and a lot of hinge damage. The other 3 have severe to light hinge damage, any where from split 3/4 of its length to just under a quarter inch in length.
I would like to see a vid of the shipment during transit just to see what and how it got damaged..

M1911A1

• Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2017, 03:49:32 PM »
UPS has an in-house football team (Rugby style, Australian rules).