Author Topic: New Knife  (Read 2249 times)

oldranger53

• The Ranger Creed-words to live by
  • 2/503d INF ABN 173d BDE ABN
    • Temporary website home with basic information.
New Knife
« on: September 30, 2015, 03:34:01 PM »
Hello one and all,
For many years, I've thought it cool to buy a new knife every year, to sort of mark the time, so to speak.

The last few years, I've cut back to a new knife every two years, and a new gun every two years as well...but this is about a knife, so I'll stick to that for this post.

Two years ago I found a Cold Steel Recon 1 at a LGS in Butte, Montana.  It was a older model that had a modified Tanto blade and a blade lock that Cold Steel no longer uses primarily (so I'm told) because it infringed on a Benchmade trademark. 
I've been carrying that CS Recon 1 since Fall of 2013 and the wear and tear shows on the pic attached.

This year I almost did not follow my own set tradition, a new knife every 2 years, but was so impressed by the knife that arrived today via FedEx, that I kept with tradition and purchased one for my very own.

The new knife is called the "Rawles Voyager XL 50/50", and is a "Limited Edition", and sports a half serrated Tanto blade.  This is the only configuration Cold Steel makes where a Tanto blade is half serrated on either the Recon line, or the Voyager line (I think).  Henceforth, one could get a plain edge, or a full serration on the XL blades, but not half.  I'm pretty sure I am correct in what I'm saying.  Of course, if I'm incorrect, please set me straight because I like half serrated blades.

Anyway, here's a pic of the two knives together, the old and the new.

EDITED to add timeline details.
« Last Edit: September 30, 2015, 08:36:35 PM by oldranger53 »
Never shall I fail my comrades. I will always keep myself mentally alert, physically strong and morally straight, and I will shoulder more than my share of the task whatever it may be.  One hundred percent and then some.

oldranger53

Re: New Knife