Author Topic: Do You Agree? Disagree? What Would You Add/Subtract?  (Read 3576 times)

Gary Slider

• Handgunlaw.us
Do You Agree? Disagree? What Would You Add/Subtract?
« on: January 28, 2014, 10:52:04 AM »
As a firearms trainer I get lots of questions when instructing. Below is a list I made up that is not all inclusive but contains many little nuggets (Again my Choices) on firearm safety/handling/Things to Think About and how to do things to help keep yourself safe. Some will not agree with them all but then again I have never met someone I agree with 100% of the time. In my older years I have found out it is good to go over things like this every once in awhile as a good refresher. Do you disagree with any of them? What would you add?  I am hoping for some that I donít have listed and that I have not thought about. We can always learn from each other.

1.   First rule of any gunfight is to have a gun.
2.   If you know you are going to be in a gunfight take a rifle.
3.    Better yet if you know there is going to be a gunfight donít go there.
4.    Know the rules of safe gun handling and follow them religiously.
5.    Get the best quality training that you can afford.
6.   Carrying a big heavy gun around all day is tough. That is why they make compact handguns. If it is too bulky and  heavy you may not carry it all the time.

7.   Practice with your carry gun as often as possible.
8.    Always be aware of your surroundings. Keep that head up and scanning your surroundings.

9.    Carry a handgun that shoots the biggest round you can control.
10.   Always, Always, Always keep your finger off the trigger until ready to fire!
11.    A safety is a mechanical device that can and will fail. (See #4)
12.    Never carry a firearm unless it is in a holster and that holster covers the trigger.
13.   Know the laws on where you can and canít legally carry your firearm.
14.    Always listen to that little voice inside you that tells you something is not right.