Author Topic: Being In Time  (Read 948 times)

CR Williams

• In Shadow In Light
Being In Time
« on: September 03, 2013, 07:05:41 AM »
No, that's not a misprint.

This is a concept that can be applied to drill and practice, not a drill itself.

Martial artists and specifically fencers and other sword-fighters understand and study timing and rhythm. The last formal martial art I studied showed me, among other things, that you can defeat a physically faster/quicker opponent by understanding and using timing and to a lesser extent distance.

There is a rhythm in everything I can think of. Physiology, biological processes, and physics pretty much demand it. Your task will be to determine and understand your own rhythms and timings and to consider how to 1)disrupt the rhythm and timing of others and 2)use the attacker's timing to your advantage.

Pick any drill. Put yourself on a counter. You need a metronome or audible/visual counting app of some type. Something that will give you a cue to a steady count or rhythm. Start that counter and perform the drill by the count, in time with the established rhythm. Start slower than you normally do and make yourself stay in time. Don't break the timing/rhythm, don't go faster than the count even if can. Pay attention to mechanics and how things feel. This may provide you diagnostic as to whether you're performing the technique(s) properly and moving effectively.

After a while, you can begin speeding up the count in increments. One-two-one-two-one-two-three moves in steps to onetwoonetwoonetwothree and maybe even to otnweootnweoottnwheoree. As long as the rhythm is maintained and you're moving for best efficiency and effectiveness, that's what you do. Back off the timing when you start breaking the movement.