Author Topic: The Harries Flashlight Technique  (Read 749 times)

M1911A1

• Global Moderator
The Harries Flashlight Technique
« on: August 04, 2016, 04:22:16 PM »
I've just added a new article to the Guntoters' Blog.
It's about how to manage the combination of pistol and flashlight while doing both searches and defensive shooting in low-light conditions.

Read it here: http://guntoters.com/blog/2016/08/04/through-darkest-interiors-with-gun-and-flashlight/

Please tell me what you think about it.
Steve,
retired leathersmith and practical shooter

"Qui desiderat pacem, pręparet bellum."

Taurian

• Global Moderator
Re: The Harries Flashlight Technique
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2016, 06:30:29 PM »
Excellent article!  I am not a fan of flashlights on handguns; never have been and never will be. The technique shown is the same technique that I have been using for many years. I like my switches mounted on the side of the flashlight rather than on the rear. Besides, the flashlight that I carried as a LEO also made a good impact weapon and I did not have to worry about buggering up my duty weapon when taking out some perp's kneecap.  Straight baton and flashlight defensive tactic techniques were very similar in those days.

The sympathetic nerve reaction that you spoke about is founded in fact; therefore, it is best to keep the finger off of the trigger until you are ready to shoot (of course, we knew that already, didn't we?).

With revolvers, and with their heavy trigger, sympathetic nerve reaction wasn't that much of a problem. With some semi-automatic pistols made today, I could see where there could be a problem - especially under stress.

Anyway, kudos on the article and taking us down memory lane with Elvira: Mistress of the Dark. And, was there someone else in that picture?  All I saw was.... ;D